Oceans

I’ve never lived more than a 2 hour drive away from the ocean.  Until my early 20’s I could drive 15 minutes and be looking out to sea.  This was my escape, my coping mechanism, my release from the craziness in my head that I didn’t understand…  Go around to the beach and sit and watch the waves come in.  Watching the endless wave action, hearing the water birds calling, seeing the sunset or sunrise…  these are the things that have always brought us back to steady ground internally.

I think this is part of the reason that when our friends are in pain, we’ve never known what to say to help.  We don’t know soothing words, but we know peaceful silence that comes from being alone with the ocean.  You can’t transfer that feeling into words.

When we lived in Wellington, we would sometimes go around Coast Road beyond Wainuiomata and watch the storms rolling in from the Antarctic.  It was like watching some of the storms that happen within my head.  Seeing the ferocious wind and waves crash up against the rocks, it freed some of the tension and anger that we would feel coming from our internal Basement.

Negative memories are associated with the ocean, but we can block those out when looking out to sea.  It numbs, yet frees us.  We’ve yet to find an alternative for this feeling, the lake is a very poor substitute.

We need the ocean now…

—————-
Now playing: U2 – Running to Stand Still
via FoxyTunes

10 Responses to “Oceans”


  1. 1 Paul from Mind Parts August 4, 2009 at 3:12 pm

    I think this is a lovely post. It gives me a wonderful image and I can imagine you being helped by the ocean.

    For me, I’m not much of a water guy. Music would probably be my equivalent.

    Thinking of you,

    Paul

    • 2 castorgirl August 4, 2009 at 6:52 pm

      It’s about finding something that soothes, whether that be music, the sea, art… Something that gives us escape and calmness for a moment in time.

      Some music that I’ve listened to can create a similar feeling, but not quite. One that came close was the Kuroshio Sea clip which features the music of Barcelona. So maybe we just haven’t found the right music yet :) Or, maybe it’s about us needing the other senses involved…

      (((warm safe hugs)))
      Take care
      Michelle

  2. 3 gracie et al August 4, 2009 at 5:58 pm

    hi,

    i have always lived on the beach – right on it with the lawn running into the sand. until now. for the past 10.5 years i have lived one street back from the mount main beach. but i can hear it roaring and smell the salt and during a storm the windows are salt covered. and it is a 30 second sprint to the dunes down the beach walkway next to our house. our garden is growing in sand. i cannot live away from the sea. i think i would die inside without it. it is so eternal and peaceful and safe – it is comforting even in a raging storm. it is a reminder of how insignificant our worries are compared to the immensity and timelessness of the ocean which was here long before i began and will crash on these shores for millenia after i am gone. i hope you can get to my beach one day in the not too distant future – with your shoes off to wriggle your toes in the sand.

    • 4 castorgirl August 4, 2009 at 6:55 pm

      That is exactly the feeling Gracie – eternal and peaceful and safe :)

      I’m hoping to get over your way one weekend while the mother is here, I think we’ll all need the distraction and calming influence.

      Take care :)
      Michelle

  3. 5 lostshadowchild August 4, 2009 at 10:54 pm

    I love the ocean too, even though I have fear of water (but this is part of our abuse history). Sitting at the beach and looking to the waves, hearing the seagulls and other birds is so, yeah, you write it above: peaceful, soothing, safe. I feel always free. I wish I could live near the ocean. I have real longing for it..
    Take care and hugs if ok ((()))

    • 6 castorgirl August 5, 2009 at 10:56 pm

      We fear the water too… We can’t go into the water, but we can watch it for hours. It is so peaceful to watch as there is no pressure to act a certain way or be something you’re not.

      (((warm safe hugs))) only if wanted…
      Take care,
      Michelle

  4. 7 fromthesamesky August 4, 2009 at 11:44 pm

    I grew up by the sea too, and to sit on the beach and watch the waves crash against the shore was the best therapy I had at the time. I echo gracie – there is something about the sea being just so much bigger, bigger than me and my problems – and endless, unchangeable. always beautiful. It used to give me hope and strength to continue. I miss that.

  5. 8 Ivory August 5, 2009 at 4:07 pm

    Oh what memories the blogs of late have stirred.

    My soother is night time in the country and laying in my bed with a window open. Off in the not too far distance, I can hear the playful calls and howls of coyotes. Somewhere down the road and thru the very small town, I can hear a train whistle tooting that particular engineer’s call. And then total silence except for a few crickets and other outside small bugs. Gotta love it.

    Thanks for stirring it up!

  6. 9 castorgirl August 5, 2009 at 10:58 pm

    Such good memories Ivory :)


  1. 1 Music, soothing and snobbery « Scattered pieces… Trackback on August 14, 2009 at 3:49 am

Leave a Reply

August 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Categories

I’m feeling…

My Unkymood Punkymood (Unkymoods)

Twitter Updates

del.icio.us


