Bridge and night photography

We’ve started to go out at night taking photos.  When we first started doing this I took it as being a simple distraction; now I’m starting to think there is more to it.  The photo below is one of our favourites and was taken on a busy night in town under one of the bridges.  Under this particular bridge is quite busy – there is a road where cars tend to speed down and the homeless and drunk often gather nearby.  Put into this mix a dissociative woman walking into this area with a $2000 camera.  Are we asking to be robbed, attacked or both?  All of the places where we’ve taken photos at night have been in similarly risky areas.  Our neighbourhood is a rough one, yet we go walking with the camera knowing we won’t be able to take good photos because of our essential tremor (shaking hands and slower shutter speeds of night photography don’t mix).  I had sort of relaxed about our night expeditions as I thought they were innocent distractions.  Now I have to try to monitor them more closely…

Bridge reflection

Bridge reflection

12 Responses to “Bridge and night photography”


  1. 1 Amie August 1, 2009 at 11:41 pm

    For me nighttime feels safe. Its dark, people can’t see you so easily. I’ve always liked the dark. Just an added idea for you to think about :)

    • 2 castorgirl August 2, 2009 at 5:03 pm

      That’s the reason why I didn’t really think anything of the night excursions Amie. But we could go to much safer places and still take photos; but nope, it’s always high risk places :(

  2. 3 Ivory August 2, 2009 at 3:35 am

    Please – be careful! But… … wow, what a great picture!!!

  3. 5 srose August 2, 2009 at 3:43 am

    What a beautiful photo..I love night time photo’s as well…but in echo of Ivory…Please be careful!

  4. 7 lostshadowchild August 2, 2009 at 4:09 am

    My thera would freak out, if I told her, that I would walk alone in such risky areas at night (even at daylight). When I saw your absolute beautiful pictures for the first time, a protector said immediately to me “It’s not safe” :( but I didn’t know that you are going to such risky places. It’s good and I’m very glad that you are thinking about it. Maybe there are some possibilities to make this “go out in the night” a little bit safer. please take care of you. safe hugs ((())) if ok.

    • 8 castorgirl August 2, 2009 at 5:10 pm

      I hadn’t even thought of telling Liz… :( It honestly started as a good distraction, but I know that the self-destructive ones are driving the urge more and more. We now have the mother with us for the next month, so that may put a brake on it all.

      Thank you and (((safe hugs))) back, if wanted :)
      Take care

  5. 9 Paul August 2, 2009 at 8:31 am

    Great picture! Yes, I don’t want anything to happen to you. So, please do an “all of you” assessment of whether this is safe for you. Just a thought, but if you got a tripod (a heavy one), you could use it as a weapon against an attacker. I’m half serious. Paul

    • 10 castorgirl August 2, 2009 at 5:16 pm

      I have a feeling that the ones driving the need to go take photos are not really interested in defending the body. I’m hoping it’s just a residual need from the ACC drama and will dissipate this week. I still might get a tripod anyway, just to help with the tremor issue. Not sure how these ones turned out so clear when the exposure times would have been quite long.

      Take care…

  6. 11 kerro August 3, 2009 at 10:46 pm

    The pic is wonderful Castorgirl – thank you for sharing it.

    I hate the dark. It scares the life out of me. There’s a boogey man behind every shadow and behind every noise. *shudders*

    Please stay safe out there, CG.

    • 12 castorgirl August 4, 2009 at 10:57 am

      We’re exactly the same Kerro – hate the dark, hate shadows etc. Well, usually the same anyway. Obviously some part of my brain quite likes the night and the dangers it presents. Haven’t gone out for the last two nights, so maybe the urges have passed or the mother being here has put a brake on it.

      Take care :)


Leave a Reply

August 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Categories

I’m feeling…

My Unkymood Punkymood (Unkymoods)

Twitter Updates

del.icio.us


