Scarlet

One of the first YouTube clips Sophie created was Little girl lost… which used the song Scarlet by Brooke Fraser.  This song represents our suicidal struggles.  It isn’t one of her more popular songs and as far as I know she never made a video to go with it.  Here is a simple fans version…

Middle of nowhere
Finally you can breathe
Nobody knows your name
It’s easier

Shut your eyes tightly
Clench your fists ’til they almost bleed
Cautiously, lightly
Gently expose what’s underneath

And all you feel now
Is the scarlet in the day
Even if it’s real
You can’t stay…

So there you go
You’re gone for good
There you go
You’re gone for good

Your mind is swollen
From months of thought without release
They’ve taken their toll on you
And this very moment
Of timid and fragile honesty
Is precious and rare and fleeting

And all you feel now
Is the scarlet in the day
And even if it’s real
You can’t stay…

So there you go
You’re gone for good
There you go
You’re gone for good

Oohhhh…

There you go
You’re gone for good
There you go
You’re gone for good

8 Responses to “Scarlet”


  1. 1 lostshadowchild July 17, 2009 at 2:36 am

    Love this song….
    Have bought the CD “What to do with daylight” :)

    • 2 KBlessedbyfire July 17, 2009 at 3:07 am

      Hi Castor Girl !

      I haven’t talked to you for a while. When I first started on this “journey ” with DID – last year, the very first video that I connected with was Sophies video “Little Girl Lost”. It touched me so much. On occasion I stil go back to it because it reminds me that someone else knows .

      I read your blogs often. Even if you’re not aware of it, your words still help me through alot of things.
      This song does too.

      Kar-Ly

  2. 3 Amie July 17, 2009 at 4:33 am

    This video is the one i always remember. I think it was the first i’d seen of yours. I related to it so much, and that song has become very close to my heart thanks to your video.
    Hope you are doing well, i’m not getting much time online or time for comments but know that i’m here and reading each word you share. x take care

  3. 4 mindparts July 17, 2009 at 8:30 am

    Thanks Sophie! I bought yesterday, off iTunes, her Albertine album. I’m a sucker for good piano pieces. Thanks. Not able to listen here (I’m in a library!!) But will when I get home. Thanks, Paul.

  4. 5 castorgirl July 17, 2009 at 2:55 pm

    Hi everyone,

    It’s Sophie here… things aren’t going too well. There was a big stuff up with ACC and lots of confidential information that detailed our abuse went missing. They lost it and anyone could have been reading it…

    We called the crisis line last night cos W was going to run away, but it was a bad line so they said they’d call back, but they never did. We were too scared to call again cos we’d already made a fuss by calling the first time. Now we’re all calm and scary. No one can do anything, we know that. But it’s just really really scary.

    Take care…
    Sophie );

  5. 6 lostshadowchild July 17, 2009 at 4:04 pm

    omg…that’s so awful and terrible.
    How on earth these *****, *****, ***** could lost your confidential informations???!!! I could freak out, when I hear this.
    So sorry that this happened to you. Please take good care, maybe you can phone Liz for an emergency date?
    Thinking of you ((())) and send you a great package of strength

  6. 7 kerro July 17, 2009 at 10:33 pm

    Thank you so much for sharing this song. It’s beautiful. I heard it ages ago, but never knew what it was. Thank you so much … I’m off to iTunes now. :)

    (((CG))) I hope you’re ok. I’m sorry you had such night.

  7. 8 jumpinginpuddles July 18, 2009 at 1:33 pm

    ok we are hookd also now thankyou for ghiving us such a gift by sharing this


Leave a Reply

July 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Categories

I’m feeling…

My Unkymood Punkymood (Unkymoods)

Twitter Updates

del.icio.us

Flickr

Minion pumpkin

Milkweed

Jetty

More Photos

